New Purcell recording with Rowan Pierce

New Purcell recording with Rowan Pierce

Soprano Rowan Pierce, Richard Egarr on harpsichord and AAM theorbo player William Carter have collaborated on a new release of music by Purcell, entitled The Cares of Lovers, released on Linn Records on 22 February. Rowan is a regular guest soloist at AAM and sang the role of Belinda in October’s Dido & Aeneas at the Barbican.

The Cares of Lovers comprises songs from across Purcell’s brief career from She loves and she confesses too, one of
his very first published pieces (1683), to Sweeter than roses from his final months (1695). Although they all display
the same matchless ingenuity and uncanny ability to set English words to music, a highlight includes Tell me, some
pitying angel – a triumph of dramatic composition and the equal of any Italian cantata of the period.

Since winning the President’s Award at the Royal College of Music in 2017, Pierce has made notable debuts at BBC
Proms (Handel with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment) and at Wigmore Hall (Handel and Telemann with the
London Handel Players). Her performance in Purcell’s The Fairy Queen, with the Academy of Ancient Music, won
praise for her “expressive” (Financial Times) and “heart-piercing” (The Independent) singing.

Track listing:

Henry Purcell

1. The cares of lovers (from The History of Timon of Athens, The Man-Hater, Z. 632);

2. Sweeter than roses (from Pausanias, the Betrayer of his Country, Z. 585);

3. From silent shades ‘Bess of Bedlam’, Z. 370;

4. Retir’d from mortal’s sight (from The Sicilian Usurper or The History of King Richard the Second, Z. 581);

5. Celia has a thousand charms (from The Rival Sisters, or The Violence of Love, Z. 609);

6. Dear pretty youth (from The Tempest, Z. 631);

7. A Ground in Gamut, Z. 645;

8. If music be the food of love (Z. 379c);

9. O solitude, my sweetest choice, Z. 406;

10. Hears not my Phillis ‘The Knotting Song’, Z.371;

11. O lead me to some peaceful gloom (from Bonduca or The British Heroine, Z. 574);

12. She loves and she confesses too, Z. 413;

13. Ground, ZD. 222;

14. Tell me, some pitying angel ‘The Blessed Virgin’s Expostulation’, Z. 196;

15. Music for a while (from Oedipus, King of Thebes, Z. 583);

16. The fatal hour comes on apace, Z. 421;

17. Thou wakeful shepherd ‘A morning hymn’, Z. 198;

18. Now that the sun hath veiled his light ‘An Evening Hymn’, Z. 193

Pre-order The Cares of Lovers