The Echoing Air

Purcell, Henry (1659–95)

Academy of Ancient Music

Sylvia McNair soprano

Laurence Dreyfus cello and viola da gamba

Paul O'Dette archlute

Christopher Hogwood director & keyboards

Year: 1995
Catalogue: Philips 446 081 2

On this CD

  • "If music be the food of love"

  • "To arms, to arms, heroic prince"

  • "Tell me, some pitying angel"

  • "We come to sing" 

  • "Oh! Lead me to some peaceful gloom" 

  • "O solitude" 

  • "Hark! Hark! The echoing air"  

  • "Sweeter than Roses"

  • "Fairest Isle"

  • "She that would gain a faithful lover"

  • "Cupid, the slyest rogue alive"

  • "I attempt from love’s sickness to fly" 

  • "Music for a while" 

  • "The fatal hour comes on apace" 

  • "Hear, mighty love Plainte"

  • "O let me weep" 

  • Chacony in G minor